December 9, 2013

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas - The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Wright, Lindsey & Jennings LLP announced the inaugural Cliff Harris Award finalist list today. The Cliff Harris Award will be presented annually to the top small college defensive football player in the country representing almost 500 NCAA Division II, III and NAIA colleges and universities. Nominees and finalists from all three divisions and an overall winner are chosen by head coaches and a prestigious selection committee of college and pro football greats. The winner will be announced on Dec. 24 and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet in February 2014 featuring guest speaker Lou Holtz. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award Trophy. The list of all nominees can be found at

For the story of Cliff Harris go to and read about his amazing journey from an overlooked high school player from tiny Des Arc, AR, and one scholarship offer to then NAIA Ouachita Baptist University to five Super Bowls and six Pro Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys.


JamieMederSRDefensive TackleAshland UniversityDivision II
LarryWebsterSRDefensive EndBloomsburgDivision II
JakeEdmistonSRLinebackerColorado MesaDivision II
DariusAllenJRDefensive EndColorado State University-PuebloDivision II
ZachMooreSRDefensive EndConcordia-St. PaulDivision II
KeatonStiggerSRLinebackerHenderson State UniversityDivision II
MichaelGreenSRDefensive BackLenoir-RhyneDivision II
PierreDesirSRCorner BackLindenwood UniversityDivision II
NateDreilingSRLinebackerPittsburg State UniversityDivision II
ShonquezNelsonSRDefensive LineSaint Augustine's UniversitryDivision II
HowardJonesSRDefensive EndShepherdDivision II
JakeMetzSRDefensive EndShippensburg UniversityDivision II
JackMoroSRField SafetySt. Cloud State UniversityDivision II
BrianHarringtonJRLinebackerStonehill CollegeDivision II
GrantSingerJRLinebackerUniversity of MaryDivision II
ChrisVandervestSRDefensive EndUniversity of Minnesota DuluthDivision II
MalcolmButlerSRCornerbackUniversity of West AlabamaDivision II
ChrisPopeSRLinebackerValdosta StateDivision II
RonellWilliamsJRLinebackerWest Chester University (Pa.)Division II
EthanWestbrooksSRDefensive EndWest Texas A&MDivision II


CarlosFieldsSRLinebackerWinston-Salem State UniversityDivision II
DrewPetersonSRSafetyAlbrightDivision III
SethMathisSRLinebackerBethel University (Minn.)Division III
RobRuggieroSRDefensive LineBridgewater State UniversityDivision III
DannySamsonSRDefensive EndCentral CollegeDivision III
TonySierraSRDefensive BackDefiance CollegeDivision III
AdhamTalaatSRDefensive EndGallaudet UniversityDivision III
DavidTernesJRLinebackerGrinnell CollegeDivision III
JakeStilwellSODefensive LineHanover College (Ind.)Division III
KolinSullivanSRLinebackerKenyon CollegeDivision III
AndreCarterSRLinebackerLaGrange CollegeDivision III
FrankGaffneyJRLinebackerLebanon ValleyDivision III
DominiqueForrestSRLinebackerLinfield CollegeDivision III
ZachBellJRDefensive EndMillsaps CollegeDivision III
JakeWeddleJRLinebackerMississippi CollegeDivision III
DakodaWinsorJRLinebackerSouthern Virginia UniversityDivision III
SilvioDiazSRDefensive TackleUniversity of Mary Hardin-BaylorDivision III
KyleWismerSRLinebackerUniversity of Wisconsin-WhitewaterDivision III
NelsonNwumehSRDefensive LineWashington University in St. LouisDivision III
BrandonFedorkaSRDefensive EndWaynesburg UniversityDivision III
JackNelsonJRLinebackerWillamette UniversityDivision III


SeanBlomquistJRLinebackerCarroll CollegeNAIA
DonnyRugglesSRDefensive BackFaulkner UniversityNAIA
BrockMessinaSRLinebackerGeorgetown CollegeNAIA
JasonGladfelderSRLinebackerGrand View UniversityNAIA
JoeCamachoSRLinebackerMidAmerica NazareneNAIA
TyPhillipsJRDefensive LineMissouri Valley CollegeNAIA
DeronBruceJRDefensive LineOttawa UniversityNAIA
ZachDolphSRLinebackerSaint Xavier UniversityNAIA