Little Rock, AR – 12/18/2023 –The Cliff Harris Award and Little Rock Touchdown Club, in partnership with the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), proudly announces senior defensive lineman Tristin Waugh from Grand View University in Des Moines, Iowa has been honored with the NAIA 2023 Cliff Harris Award. Waugh’s outstanding performance during the 2023 season secured his selection as the first-ever recipient from Grand View University.

Waugh’s dominance on the field was showcased as he led the NAIA in both sacks, totaling 15.0, and tackles for loss, registering an impressive 23.

Waugh anchored a Vikings defense leading the NAIA in scoring defense by allowing a mere 7.3 points per game. His historic season also included 48 total tackles, 2 forced fumbles, 4 pass breakups, and a blocked kick throughout the season.

This season, Grand View achieved a perfect 11-0 regular season record, securing the #2 ranking as they advanced into the postseason. Additionally, Grand View clinched their 5th consecutive North Division Title within the Heart of America Athletic Conference.

The Cliff Harris Award, recognizing the top small college defensive player in the country in NCAA Division II, Division III, and NAIA, expanded the award recognition this season with a $3,000 Trophy for each winner in every division.

For media inquiries, interviews, or additional information, please contact: David Bazzel – President, Little Rock Touchdown Club-

Follow us on social media:

  • Facebook:
  • Twitter: @CliffHarrisAwd
  • Instagram: @TheCliffHarrisAward

About the Cliff Harris Award: The Cliff Harris Award is an annual recognition program dedicated to celebrating exceptional defensive players in small college football. Named after NFL Hall of Famer Cliff Harris, the award acknowledges players who exhibit excellence on and off the field.

The Trophy: One of the most unique awards in all of college football, the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy stands almost two feet tall and weighs 35 pounds. A rare two-figurine sports action bronze sculpture, the Cliff Harris Award represents an actual tackle by NFL Hall of Fame and Dallas Cowboy great Cliff Harris, against Harold Jackson of the Los Angeles Rams. What makes this trophy truly exceptional is its intricate design, showcasing extreme angles and attachment points that secure the two bronze players to a three-tier walnut wood base, setting it apart from any other trophy in all levels of college football. Crafted from fourteen distinct bronze pieces, its assembly process ranks among the most intricate and complex in sports awards. Every winner from DII, DIII and NAIA will receive their own Cliff Harris Award trophy.

Sculpted by Raymond Gibby and designed by David Bazzel, this trophy embodies excellence in both craftsmanship and football achievement.

Over the last decade, many of the finalists and winners have continued their outstanding football careers in the National Football League.

  • Pierre Desir (Lindenwood, winner ’13)
  • Malcom Butler (West Alabama, finalist ’13)
  • Marqui Christian (Midwestern State, winner ’15)
  • Matthew Judon (Grand Valley State, finalist ’15)
  • Michael Joeseph (Dubuque, winner ’17)
  • Corey Ballentine (Washburn, winner ’18)
  • Kyle Duggar (Lenoir-Rhyne, winner ’19)
  • Sam Roberts (Northwest Missouri State, winner ’21)
  • Caleb Murphy (Ferris State, winner ’22)

For more information about the Cliff Harris Award and to stay updated on the latest news and developments, please visit